Ngati Kuri Treaty Settlement Enacted Into Law

Ngati Kuri were amongst four Te Hiku iwi whose Treaty settlements will be enacted into law following the successful third reading of the Te Hiku Claims Settlement Bill, Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations Minister Christopher Finlayson announced on September 9.

“Ngāti Kuri, Te Aupōuri, NgāiTakoto and Te Rarawa will now have their full and final settlements with the Crown enshrined in law,” Mr Finlayson said. “Each settlement acknowledges, apologises for and makes significant redress toward righting wrongs of the past.”

“The four settlements in the Te Hiku Claims Settlement Bill will provide a base for the iwi to rebuild economically and to exercise their mana, rangatiratanga and tikanga,” Mr Finlayson said.

“They include quantum amounts totalling $96.6 million, and cultural redress that supports the aspirations of the iwi to exercise their kaitiakitanga over ancestral lands in a constructive relationship with the Crown.”

Mr Finlayson said the settlements acknowledged, apologised and made redress for Crown breaches of the Treaty of Waitangi and the long-term impacts of these breaches.

“Crown actions and omissions during the 19th and 20th centuries left Te Hiku iwi with very little land, or virtually landless. Opportunities for economic, social and cultural development were lost and tribal structures were weakened as many had to leave their rohe altogether. Those who have remained now live in one of the most socially and economically deprived areas of New Zealand,” Mr Finlayson said.

“Next week is the 40th anniversary of the start of the Dame Whina Cooper-led land march from Te Hapua to Wellington, that protested the alienation of Māori land,” Mr Finlayson said. “This is a fitting time for the Te Hiku settlements to pass into New Zealand law.”

“The government is committed to concluding Treaty settlements with all willing and able iwi, and this is a significant step towards that.”


Original article posted as press release Wednesday, 9 September 2015, 1:14 pm
New Zealand Government
Hon Christopher Finlayson
Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations