Independent Constitutional Working Group

The Independent Constitutional Working Group (CWG) is Chaired by Professor Margaret Mutu (Ngāti Kahu) and its Convenor is Moana Jackson (Ngāti Kahungunu/Ngāti Porou). The CWG Chair reports to the Iwi Chairs Forum, and the CWG members report to their respective iwi.

The CWG’s mandate is to develop and implement an inclusive model Constitution for Aotearoa based on Māori tikanga and kawa, He Whakaputanga o Niu Tireni, Te Tiriti o Waitangi, and other indigenous human rights instruments which enjoy a wide degree of international recognition (such as the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples).  It works independently of the Government’s Constitutional Review.

The CWG’s ‘Phase One’ work program beginning in 2012 will be focussed on re-energising Māori awareness of our spiritual, cultural and political identity, and from that empowered space to engage with Māori about their constitutional issues, and possible design solutions.  Phase Two will include collating and analysing all the kōrero.  A constitutional model will then be developed for further Māori consultation.


For More Information, click on the Following links:

Or, you can contact your iwi CWG member, Catherine Davis: